Hedgecock grabs Chevy Performance win

After a washout on night one of the Chevrolet Performance Thunder Nationals it was picture perfect weather for night two at Tennessee’s action track.
A strong field of Modified Street drivers were on hand to do battle for $700. Wayne Rader and Chris Rickett have dominated the 2017 season so far but it would be Michael Woods who put his #66 on pole for the first time for the the 20 lap feature. With the green in the air for this first race of the night Woods took the lead ahead of Rader, Austin Atkins, Chris Rickett and the returning Brad Davis. Rader has already picked up multiple wins this season at 411 and Volunteer Speedway but he had his hands full with Austin Atkins who wanted his second place position. Rickett, Davis and Lamar Hughes, who was making his first appearance at 411 this season had a great battle as they went three wide down the backstretch. Davis would make his was past them and into the third spot as he continued his drive to the front. Hughes didn’t have the best qualifying lap but was putting on a show as he tried to pick his way up through the pack. He and Austin Atkins had a hard fought battle for the fourth spot late in the race. Davis had reeled in the top two cars and he got the caution he needed shortly after as Chad McLemore went for a spin. Davis would use this restart to get past Rader and set his sights on the race leader. He drove in deep into turn three knowing it was his last chance as they were coming to the white flag and took the lead away. Woods had one last shot at getting the top spot back but couldn’t get a run off the final turn.
1: #88 Brad Davis
2: #66 Michael Woods
3: #01 Wayne Rader
4: #14 Austin Atkins
5: #10 Lamar Hughes
6: #36 Chris Rickett
7: #11 Tracy Wolfe
8: #M2 Shannon Emery
9: #0z John Cook
10: #74 Freddy Hillard
11: #EZ1 Chad McLemore
12: #21 Wendell Spence
13: #41 Dennie Spicer
DNS: #51 Dalton King
DNS: #51 Pete Wright
DNS: #C8 Lance Creasman
Next up was the Sportsman feature. Chris Coffey would earn the pole for the A main by setting fast time earlier in the day in qualifying. Coffey would take control on the start with point leader Zach Sise, Bradley Lewelling, Brad Seagle and Adam Mitchell rounding out the top five on the start. Jed Emert didn’t have a great starting spot but he was going in the right direction early on moving past Warren McMahan in the opening laps. Another driver on the go was Josh Sneed as the #79 seemed to gain a position every lap on his way into the top group. Sise wasn’t giving any breathing room to Coffey as he looked low coming off turn two nearly every lap. Adam Mitchell had a very strong run going as he and Sneed did battle for the third spot. Big trouble for Rex Coffey as he and Brandon Gardner got together and collected James Cole who slammed the turn two wall. Cole was done for the night with right front damage. Back under green and Sise made his move getting past Coffey and into the lead. A late caution for Gardner who went for a spin set up a restart giving Coffey another shot at the lead. However it would be Mitchell who took the runner up spot away moving the #97 back to third. Up front it was all Zach Sise who pulled away and picked up back to back wins. 
1: #9 Zach Sise
2: #50 Adam Mitchell
3: #97 Chris Coffey
4: #89 Brandon Miller
5: #98 Jed Emert
6: #31 Brad Seagle
7: #79 Josh Sneed
8: #2 Rex Coffey
9: #10B Bradley Lewelling
10: #33 Warren McMahan
11: #3 Floyd Self
12: #49 Grant Corum
13: #26 brandon Gardner
14: #86 Troy Smith
15: #5 James Cole
16: #58 Cody Brake
20 laps was the scheduled distance for the Classic Car division with Eli Keck taking the lead on the start ahead of Joe Keck who had recovered from a crash in practice. Tom Juhl, Richie Overholser and Lee Merritt rounded out the rest of the top five on the start. Chris Nix would go for a spin but got it back going before the caution came out. Juhl had a strong run once again as he challenged the Kecks for the top spots but he slowed a couple laps later with mechanical issues. Overholser had moved his way up into the third spot as the laps ticked away but slowed with problems later on ending his night. Trouble would also find second place points driver Lee Merritt as he slowed after having smoke coming from the rear of his machine. A bit of a wild wreck on the front as Bradley Hutchinson and Russell Hefti got together bringing out the caution. No one would have anything on the night for Eli Keck as he cruised to the win.
1: #8 Eli Keck
2: #17 Luke Ellis
3: #0 Russell Hefti
4: #1C Billy Woods
5: #77 Chris Nix
6: #14 Lee Merritt
7: #2 Bradley Hutchinson
8: #78 Joe Keck
9: #50 Shaun Sise
10: #18 Richie Overholser
11: #17 Tom Juhl
12: #24 Scott Lacy
50 laps and $3,000 was going to the winner of the Chevrolet Performance Super Late Models as 17 of the best series drivers were on hand to do battle in front of a standing room only crowd. Cory Hedgecock despite tagging the wall on his qualifying lap was still able to set fast time. Hedgecock has dominated the crate racing scene in the area and looked to continue his winning ways by taking the lead on the start. Devin Dixon, Riley Hickman, Austin Smith and Hall Of Fame member Ronnie Johnson were the rest of the top five on the start. Johnson seemed to have some issues as he began slipping back almost immediately. Jake Knowles seemed to have hit the setup just right as he moved past Johnson and into the top five. Hedgecock was setting such a furious pace he was already in slower traffic just 7 laps into the 50 scheduled. Michael Page moved himself into a top five spot. The caution would wave for Chris Sizemore who went for a spin erasing the huge lead Hedgecock had built up. Riley Hickman had a strong run going early on but began to slip back as Knowles took the fourth spot away just past halfway. Lap 31 saw another caution as second place driver Devin Dixon lost an engine coming out of turn four ending his night 19 laps early. Hedgecock was never challenged as he pulled away on the last restart and picked up another impressive win.
1: #9 Cory Hedgecock
2: #18x Michael Page
3: #66 Jake Knowles
4: #84 Austin Smith
5: #03 Oliver Gentry
6: #85 Ronnie Johnson
7: #19 Landon Bagby
8: #87 Zach Pilcher
9: #R1 Riley Hickman
10: #1G Ryan King
11: #34 Chad Wallace
12: #24c Barry Goodman
13: #00 Dalton Polston
14: #58 Devin Dixon
15: #51D Randy Dillard
16: #20 Chris Sizemore
17: #92 Rodney Martin
The final race of the night would be the 20 lap Open Wheel modified feature. Brad Hall would earn the pole for the A mean looking for back to back wins at the Action Track in Tennessee. However it would be outside pole sitter Don Adams who put his #90 on top of the scoreboard with Hall, Amos Bunch, Wayne James and Jody Puckett your top five. Bunch and Hall had a great battle for the runner up spot as the early laps ticked off. Another great fight was between Rocky Ogle and Robbie Comer for the 6th position. Comer had a strong run going as he had moved his way all the way up into the top three. A scary moment as Rocky Ogle got sideways on the front collecting Jamie Mosley and Tyler James. All three cars had heavy damage with Ogle nearly flipping over. Ogle and Mosley would be done but James would continue a couple laps before calling it quits for the night as well. The caution waved again this time for debris setting up a restart. Brad Hall got his nose inside the leader but had to fall back in line. Adams would hold on to pick up the win in a great feature event. 
1: #90 Don Adams
2: #47 Brad Hall
3: #J3 Jody Puckett
4: #50 Amos Bunch
5: #4 Wayne James
6: #42 Robbie Comer
7: #2 Jimmy Dalton
8: #X Josh Chesney
9: #J4 Tyler James
10: #9 Rocky Ogle
11: #11 Jamie Mosley
12: #J1 Terry James
Next Saturday, August 12th the Open Wheels will take center stage with the Brucebilt Iron Man series Open Wheel special. 










Order by:

Comments are closed