Cardwell thunders to victory

After picking up the win last week, Wayne Rader picked up where he left off by setting fast time in Mod Street qualifying. Rader took control of the pack on the start with Michael Woods, Chris Rickett, Dwayne Fox and the late arriving Scotty Atkins in his tire tracks. Rickett came into the night with 3 wins already to his credit in 2017 at the 4-1-1. Looking for number 4 he worked the low line under Woods trying to take the second spot away. Trouble for Jeremy Wyatt who lost a drive shaft on the exit of turn four bringing out the caution. Back under green and Rickett got a great restart and moved into the runner up spot and even up beside Rader for the top spot. Michael Woods slipped back to third on the restart and had his hands full with Dwayne Fox. Rickett would close in as the laps ticked away but would run out of time as Rader went on to score back to back wins and his third win overall.
1: #01 Wayne Rader
2: #36 Chris Rickett
3: #27 Dwayne Fox
4: #66 Michael Woods
5: #20 Scott Atkins
6: #14 Jeremy Wyatt
DNS: #74 Freddy Hillard
Next up was the 20 lap Sportsman feature. Chris Coffey fast time in qualifying just barely missing the track record. With the green in the air it was the 2016 Sportsman champion Clyde Stanton who took control ahead of Coffey, Zach Sise, Brad Seagle and Kevin Lewis who was making his season debut at 411. Brad Seagle dominated the race last weekend but had his work cut out for him after he didn’t get a great qualifying lap in. Quickly he was on the move however as he worked over Lewis for the fourth spot. The caution would wave just 4 laps in for Jed Emert who slowed off the exit of turn four and had to retire for the night early. Back under green and Sise made a great move on the restart to get past Coffey into the runner up spot. Just past halfway and Sise had reeled Stanton in for the lead as the two put distance on Coffey who held down the third spot. The battle between Seagle and Lewis was never ending as they fought it out for the third position basically the entire race. Up front Sise made a power move off the exit of turn two setting up a drag race down the back on the last lap. Stanton got a great run off turn four and beat Sise back to the line for his first win of 2017. 
1: #C11 Clyde Stanton
2: #9 Zach Sise
3: #97 Chris Coffey
4: #K15 Kevin Lewis
5: #31 Brad Seagle
6: #3 Floyd Self
7: #818 Jeffery Wood
8: #1 Brandon Starnes
9: #32 John Adams
10: #49 Grand Corum
11: #9 Nicholas Shelton
12: #15 Michael Ledford
13: #98 Jed Emert
Eli Keck took the lead on the start of the Classic Car feature ahead of Richie Overholser, Joe Keck, Chris Nix and Chris Worsham. The Classic guys always put on a great show regardless of car count or the weekend. This would be no exception as the fight was on as soon as the green waved with Overholser looking under Keck on the start for the lead. After picking up the win last weekend, Lee Merritt wouldn’t have any luck this time around as he pulled off track in the opening laps with some sort of mechanical issues. The top three drivers didn’t waste anytime putting distance on the fourth position until the caution waved for Chris Worsham who went for a spin in turn four. Back under green and the top three continued to be under a blanket as they battled it out for the win. Lap 8 and Overholser made his move getting past Keck and into the lead. Eli Keck and Overholser had a great battle for the lead the rest of the race with Overholser holding on to pick up the win. 
1: #18 Richie Overholser
2: #8 Eli Keck
3: #78 Joe Keck
4: #44 Chris Nix
5: #3 Chris Worsham
6: #14 Lee Merritt
Next up was the 20 lap Mini Stock feature with Tommy Newton taking the lead on the start ahead of Steve Owens Jr, Thomas Clark, Marty Phillips and Bryant Idles rounding out the top five. Clark, the 2016 Mini Stock Champion was looking for his first win of the season as he worked over Owens Jr for the runner up spot. John Byers had problems in the heat race and had to start from the rear of the field. He was moving his way in the right direction as he was already inside the top five after a handful of laps. Danny Tullock would have a short night as he pulled off track early. Byers continued his drive trying to get the third spot away from Clark but the two tangled on the front stretch bringing out the caution. Both drivers would continue on but the caution was called on Clark sending him to the rear of the field. Back under green and Newton still had control with Byers now up to second after he got past Steve Owens JR. Bryant Idles had a top five run going but slowed late in the race and pulled off track. Byers closed in on Newton but it wasn’t meant to be as Newton went on to pick up another win. 
1: #T2 Tommy Newton
2: #83 John Byers
3: #17 Steve Owens Jr
4: #41 Thomas Clark
5: #4 Marty Phillips
6: #00 Steve Miller
7: #2 Bryant Idles
8: #25 Brandon Johnson
9: #T7 Danny Tullock
Josh Henry set fast time in qualifying for the Steelhead Late Models with Jason Cardwell on the outside. Cardwell has had nothing but bad luck so far in the 2017 season but things were off to a promising start as he got the hole shot coming off turn two and took the lead with Henry, Trevor Sise, Layne Clifton and Jason Welshan in chase. Clifton looked to have a strong car as he moved past Sise and into the third spot. Jason Welshan didn’t have a stellar qualifying effort but was on a mission as he was picking them up and laying them down early on moving through the pack. Up front Henry was all over Cardwell for the top spot just ahead the battle between Clifton, Sise and Welshan for third. After picking up the win last week, Eddie King Jr had no luck in this one as he pulled off track around the halfway point. The caution would wave for Phil Helton who went for a spin in turn four slowing the pace. Things were intense up front and it all boiled over on the restart as Welshan and Henry got together in two sending Welshan almost into the infield and coming to a stop a lap later. Chase King was another driver who didn’t have a great qualifying lap but had picked his way up through the pack and into the runner up spot by the last lap. After his rough luck in 2017, Jason Cardwell finally got the monkey off his back and picked up the win. 
1: #07 Jason Cardwell
2: #44 Chase King
3: #B00 Josh Henry
4: #1G Ryan King
5: #73 Trevor Sise
6: #23 Layne Clifton
7: #33x Cameron Skinner
8: #34 Ellery Leake
9: #4 Clyde Overholt
10: #G2 Jerry Green
11: #24H Phil Helton
12: #2 Jason Welshan
13: #24 Phillip Thompson
14: #2x Anthony White
15: #39 Eddie King Jr
16: #50 Adam Mitchell
17: #97 Bobby Giffin
Chad McLemore picked up the 602 Street Stock win over Shawn Henry.
1: #99 Chad McLemore
2: #c5 Shawn Henry
Order by:

Comments are closed