Knuckles survives for late model win

411 Motor speedway paid tribute to those lost and still fighting the battle with breast cancer with it’s annual Save the Tata’s event. Only $5 grandstand admission resulted in a standing room only crowd and nearly 100 of the fastest cars around.
The returning Kyle Courtney put his #171 on top of the qualifying sheets with a 14.326 second qualifying lap. A strong field of Sportman cars were on hand with the top 5 qualifiers all being under the 15 second mark. The green waved and outside pole sitter Zach Sise used the high line off turn 4 to lead lap #1 ahead of Kyle Courtney, Clyde Stanton and last weeks winner Rex Coffey. The top four began to inch away until a caution for Derrick Meadors slowed the pace on lap 5. Back under green and Coffey was on go as he moved past the newly crowned Sportsman Champion Clyde Stanton for the third spot. Coffey had the car to beat as he picked them off one by one from his 5th place starting position. Lap 6 and the #222 had caught the leader and muscled his way past into the lead. The battle was on for second between Courtney and Zach Sise as the two traded paint. After going to the rear from a spin, Stanton had worked himself back into the top 10 by the halfway point. Courtney made a move on a restart trying to get second but spun, ending his chances at victory. Rex Coffey would run away with the win but refused a post race protest which resulted in his disqualification.
1: #9 Zach Sise
2: #T0 Travis Fultz
3: #3 Floyd Self
4: #C11 Clyde Stanton
5: #11 Cody Smith
6: #50 Adam Mitchell
7: #79 Josh Sneed
8: #73 Ray Jarnigan
9: #34 Philip Shockley
10: #58 Cody Brake
11: #68 Brandon Starnes
12: #171 Kyle Courtney
13: #99 Jeff Day
14: #97 David Sims
15: #9 Derrick Meadors
16: #51 William Hux
17: #32 John Adams
DNS: #21 Bryan Howerton
DNS: #22 Rocky McNabb
DNS: #c9 Chris Johnston
DQ: #222 Rex Coffey
John Stevens earned the pole for the Classic Car feature by winning the heat race earlier in the day. With the green in the air Stevens took control of the field with Adam Pressley, Josh Chesney and Lee Merritt in chase. Merritt was working the low line under Richie Overholser in the opening laps. George McCloud was also on the move trying to get himself into the top five. Josh Chesney started to slip back through the pack as the field approached halfway. The top two put distance between themselves and the third place car of Merritt. Luke Ellis would slow the pace on lap 13 as he went for a spin in turn two bringing out the caution. No shortage of great racing in this one as Chesney, McCloud and Overholser went 3 wide down the back for the 4th spot. Pressley was all over the back of the #7 for the lead but could never find a way around. 
1: #7 John Stevens
2: #22 Adam PRessley
3: #9 Lee Merritt
4: #88 Ritchie Overholser
5: #00 Marvin Ray
6: #18 Rusty Welch
7: #2 Josh Chesney
9: #00 Billy Woods
10: #78 George McCloud
DNS: #T1 Shane Stinnett
John Byers and Thomas Clark have dominated the 2016 Mini Stock division so it was of little surprise when the two once again started up front for the 20 lap feature. Clark took the lead on the start with Steve Owens Jr, John Byers and Mark Holbert giving chase. Byers didn’t waste any time as he moved past Owens Jr into the runner up spot. The laps ticked off fast as the top 4 ran away from the pack. Byers was reeling in the lead looking for another win. Coming off turn four Clark got caught up behind a slower car allowing Byers to slip by. Jesse Hickman moved his way past Mitchell Fox and into the top five. Thomas Clark would use a late race restart to slip by Byers and into the top spot but a picture perfect crossover move by Byers down the back got him the top spot back. Byers would hold on to pick up the win in a great race. 
1: #83 John Byers
2: #41 Thomas Clark
3: #17 Steve Owens Jr
4: #7 Mark Holbert
5: #69 Jesse Hickman
6: #94 Luke Fox
7: #5 Mitchell Fox
8: #54 Samuel Fox
9: #17 Shal Ritenour
10: #3 Clifford Sands
11: #94 John Fox
12: #1 Allen Collins
A huge field of 30 Steelhead Late Models were on hand to do battle for the $1,000 payday. A 13.949 by Chase King got him the pole for the 30 lap A main being the only car under the 14 second mark. After a quick caution on the start it would be Dakotah Knuckles who took the lead ahead of pole sitter Chase King and point Champion Trevor Sise who was in third. Trouble for Chris Chandler and Greg Martin as the two got together in turn four resulting in Chandler going for a spin bringing out the caution. Trevor Sise started in the third spot and he and Chase King battled hard for the runner up spot behind Knuckles. Josh Henry started all the way back in the 16th spot and was on the move trying to pick his way through the heavy traffic. Knuckles found himself in lap traffic and gave up a bit of his lead as he tried to work his way through the slower cars. Big moment on lap 13 as Trevor Sise lost control of his machine while fighting for second and spun collecting Jason Manley and Scott Gardner. Manley had heavy front damage and was done for the night. Sise would also pull off making his Championship night bitter sweet. Trouble for Josh Henry who came to a stop on the track on lap 22 bringing out the caution. Jason Welshan had a very impressive night as he moved all the way up to 4th spot after starting 10th. Knuckles would hold off Chase King in the final laps to pick up the win. 
Late Model
1: #21k Dakotah Knuckles
2: #44 Chase King
3: #0 Ross White
4: #2 Jason Welshan
5: #72 Barrett Lowe
6: #63 Josh Collins
7: #2 Mitchell Childress
8: #31 Greg Estes
9: #144 Chris Barton
10: #33x Cameron Skinner
11: #16 Scott Gardner
12: #34 Ellery Leake
13: #07 Jason Cardwell
14: #51 Mack McCarter
15: #J0 John Owenby
16: #B00 Josh Henry
17: #73 Trevor Sise
18: #24 Greg Martin
19: #25 Bobby Mays
20: #32 Jason Manley
21: #8 Chris Chandler
22: #39 Eddie King Jr
DNS: #2 Terry Poore
DNS: #41 Richard Bailey
DNS: #97 Bobby Giffin
DNS: #15 Austin Atkins
DNS: #99 Craig Powell
DNS: #98 Kelby McAlister
DNS: #20 Kevin Jackson
DNS: #26 Brandon Gardner
Skimp Henry once again set fast time in Street Stock qualifying with a 15.204 second lap. Trouble would find Michael Millsap early as his #2 machine seemed to have engine trouble. Back under Green and Henry took control of the race with Austin Neely hot on his heels. Something appeared to break on Henry’s #25 machine as he slowed dramatically on the front stretch. Austin Neely and Chris Rickett had no where to go as they both piled into the back of Henry bringing out the caution. Henry was done with mechanical issues and Rickett retired for the night with front end damage. Austin Neely would be able to continue on with just slight cosmetic damage and he had the lead with Henry and Rickett out of the race. The #3 began to pull away as the laps ticked off. Wendell Spence started back in the 6th spot but was up to 4th with his sights set on Bryan McDaniel for the 3rd spot. Jeff McLmore recovered from a spin on the opening lap getting himself back into the top five before the end. Neely would have no issues as he ran away to a half track lead when the final flag waved. 
1: #3 Austin Neely
2: #4 Jeffery Melton
3: #59 Bryan McDaniel
4: #21 Wendell Spence
5: #J3 Jeff McLemore
6: #53 David Beeler
7: #4 Logan Cobb
8: #88 Eugene Norton
9: #25 Skimp Henry
10: #36 Chris Rickett
11: #2 Michael Millsap
DNS: #4 Dwayne Wilkerson
Angie Meadors won the Powder Puff feature over Crystal Stevens. 
1: #9 Angie Meadors
2: #7 Crystal Stevens
3: #1 Nikkole Stinnett
4: #9 Elizabeth Merritt
5: #2 Andrea Chesney
6: #17 Amber Rome
7: #69 Gina Allen
8: #47 Dawn Davis
DNS: #88 Jewel Nicely

Comments are closed