White picks up first win of 2015

With a 16.170 second lap, Jerry Hux earned the pole for the 20 lap Street Stock feature. Trouble would find Dale Jackson on the very first lap of the race as he made significant contact with the wall coming off turn two ending his night very early. The field was lined back up and Hux took the top spot when the green waved with Tracy Wolfe and Dale Watson in chase. As the early laps ticked off, Watson was putting the pressure on for the runner up spot. After just five laps Hux had pulled away to a half-straight lead over the battle for second. Watson looked inside going into turn one and the two almost made contact temporarily slowing the pace of the 2014 Street Stock Champion. Wolfe would close the gap in the final five laps but had to settle for second.
1: #01 Jerry Hux
2: #11 Tracy Wolfe
3: #11 Dale Watson
4: #12 JJ Green
5: #2 Steve Hillard
6: #55 Dave Myers
7: #99 Dale Jackson
8: #27 Dwayne Fox
DNS: #11t Tim Kilby
DNS: #77 Billy Sands
A strong field of Mini Stock cars were on hand to do battle in their 20 lap feature with Fireball Roberts taking the lead on the start. Shannon Raley began working his way up as he took over the 4th spot in the opening laps. The caution would wave one lap later as Mitchell Fox and Fireball Roberts Sr got tangled up sending Roberts into the outside front-stretch wall. The green wouldn’t be out long as on the restart Samuel Fox went for a spin in turn four. Trouble would also find Raley who began to slow and drop back in the field. Up front John Byers was all over the back of Roberts as the two renewed their battle from a few weeks ago. Byers was hungry for win number 15 on the season, working the inside line coming off the final turn but a late caution slowed the pace. Roberts would hold on for the final laps to pick up his second win of the season.
1: #322 Fireball Roberts JR
2: #j7 John Byers
3: #27 Ryan Wade
4: #44 Chris Kennedy
5: #21 Sam Fox
6: #54 Samuel Fox
7: #44 Tommy Metler
8: #31 David Darden
9: #316 Chris Budrow
10: #77 Stephen Russell
11: #5 Mitchell Fox
12: #7 Tyler Tidwell
13: #88 Shannon Raley
14: #32 Fireball Roberts Sr
DNS: #c8 Chris Griffin
DNS: #12 Mike Dutton
Philip Thompson made his return to 411 Motor Speedway in impressive fashion as he picked up the win in his heat race. With the green in the air he jumped out with the lead ahead of points leader Justin Overton and John Stevens who held down third. The first caution waved on lap 3 which saw Eli Keck loop his machine around. Back under green and Stevens put the heat on Overton for the runner up spot just behind Thompson. As the laps ticked off Overton began to eat away at the lead slowly closing in on the back of the #24. Joe Keck was in a backup car and not his familiar #78 and he looked to be struggling with the handling as he spun bringing out the caution on lap 8. Past halfway and Thompson was inching away with the lead. Stevens was working the inside line coming off turn two but spun out ending his hopes at a second consecutive win. Thompson would hold on in the final laps to pick up his second win of the season.
1: #24 Philip Thompson
2: #98 Justin Overton
3: #07 Adam Pressley
4: #8 Eli Keck
5: #18 Rusty Welch
6: #2 Chris Evans
7: #7 John Stevens
8: #88 Joe Keck
With a 14.409 lap time, point leader Jason Cardwell put his #07 machine on pole for the 30 lap Late Model feature. However, it would be Ross White who came out of turn two with the lead ahead of Cardwell, Chase King and Layne Clifton. The 2014 NeSmith track Champion Ryan King made his return after a long absence and looked to be strong with a top 5 run going early on in the race. White began to inch away from Cardwell but a caution on lap 5 for Joey Strandridge put the field back on his bumper for the restart. Cardwell again put pressure on the leader as the field raced around the track. Coming off turn four he looked low under White trying to wrestle the lead away. Mitchell Childress had a great run going as well as he slipped by Ryan King. The two would duke it out for a spot in the top 5. Chase King put his name in the mix as he closed the gap on the two leaders making it a three car battle for the top spot. Ryan King slowed on lap 23 and headed off the track and retired early. Cardwell dove under the leader again and the two made contact resulting in a chain reaction wreck that collected Clifton, and Pierce McCarter. Clifton would get his spot back but the night was over for McCarter. The caution was called on Cardwell who after a brief visit with his pitcrew returned to the track at the tail end. Clifton made a strong run at the lead but it was Ross White who picked up the win.
1: #0 Ross White
2: #23 Layne Clifton
3: #44 Chase King
4: #2 Mitchell Childress
5: #07 Jason Cardwell
6: #23 Tim Damron
7: #18 Michael Rutherford
8: #7 William Overby
9: #15 Andy Standridge
10: #6 Joey Standridge
11: #30 Ryan King
12: #71 Pierce McCarter
13: #5m Scott Shelton
The 2014 Sportsman Champion Wayne Rader set fast time in qualifying with a 15.192 lap. Only five cars were on hand but it was still a great race as Cody Smith put pressure on Rader for the lead from the get go. The top two inched away from Anthony Liford who held down the third spot. Smith used the inside line and pulled beside Rader several times throughout the 20 lap event. The two ran bumper to bumper every lap of the race but Rader held on to pick up the win.
1: #01 Wayne Rader
2: #11 Cody Smith
3: #22 Anthony Liford
4: #c11 Clyde Stanton
5: #99 Jeff Day

Comments are closed