Courtney cashes in for win, Ballenger takes NeSmith win

Tonight the Mini Stocks took center stage with a 30 lap $500 to win feature. Michael Courtney and Chris Griffin showed the way as the green flag waved. Courtney has dominated the Mini Stock division and he picked up where he left off last week by jumping into the lead. Griffin and former track champ Tommy Metler gave chase as Courtney took off. Kyle Courtney, who started in the middle of the pack quickly worked his way through the pack and was 2nd by lap 3. Also on the hunt was Rocky McNabb. McNabb made a move early on to get past Metler and set his sights on the leaders. By the 8th lap Courtney had already moved his #171 into the 2nd spot. At the 10 lap mark, the lead for Michael Courtney was getting smaller and smaller as Kyle Courtney quickly closed the gap. After starting in the back of the pack, Jason Gregory had moved up into the top half of the field, picking competitors off one by one. Kyle Courtney pulled along side Michael Courtney and the two battled for the lead door to for several laps. Finally Kyle was able to take the lead and inch away. The caution slowed the action on lap 15 for a spin by Joe Myers. It would be even worse news for Courtney as he exited the track with fluid coming from his machine. That handed the lead over to Michael Courtney who went on to score the $500 payday.#41 Michael Courtney.#51 Rocky McNabb.

#08 Chris Griffin
#21 Jason Gregory
#44 Tommy Metler
#BA2 Bryant Idles
#29 Mike Townsend
#7 Robert Burns
#F15 Mitchell Fox
#171 Kyle Courtney
#5 Marty Philips
#25 Joe Myers
#12 Jack Teffeteller
#9 Chris Johnston

Up next was the Sportsman class. Brandon Gardner was looking for another win in the 2014 season. He started his #26 machine on the front row being accompanied by David Miley. The night went south quickly for Gardner as he failed to take off on the start and went off track with mechanical problems. The green waved and David Miley set sail with Sawyer in chase. Anthony Burchett, who started in the back half of the pack began making his move. The Strong run Eric hux had came to an end on lap 9 as a flat tire ended his chance at a victory. After a quick caution Terry Poore made an impressive move to slip past Lee Merritt and into the 3rd spot. Out front Sawyer kept closing the gap on the race leader. Every lap he drew closer and closer on the back of Miley. Sawyer got underneath Miley a couple times but couldn’t make it happen.#71 David Miley
#11 Kip Sawyer
#2 Terry Poore
#14 Lee Merritt
#50 Adam Mitchell
#01 Wayne Rader
#87 Kailee Horsley
#93 Reid Scott
#69 David Macklin
#18 Anthony Burchett
#42 Tony Lindsey
#78 Bradley Lewelling
#11 Eric Hux
#26 Brandon Gardner

After stealing the show last week, the Street Stock division took to the track in front of a packed house. Dwayne Fox started from the pole and took the early lead. Points leader Dale Watson moved past Jon Cook early in the event to move himself into the 3rd spot. After a quick caution on lap 5, the racing resumed with Fox and Rickett putting on a show for the ages. Lap after lap Rickett pulled alongside Fox for the lead. Dale Watson saw his night go up in smoke as he spun his machine on the front stretch bringing out the caution. With a heavy stream of fluid from under the car, Watson was done for the night. Back under green Rickett kept the pressure on Fox but couldn’t get past.

#27 Dwayne Fox
#36 Chris Rickett
#0z Jon cook
#69 Nick Barnard
#10 Dave Smith
#5 JR Merriman
#20 Scott Atkins
#15 Jason Long
#1 David Price
#3 Brett Banks
#11 Dale Watson
#45 Anthony Singleton
#119 Mike Williams

The NeSmith Late Models would close out the show tonight. Ryan King and Rusty Ballanger came into the night in a dogfight for the points lead. Ballenger set fast time and started on the pole with Brad coffey beside him. Ballenger wanted everyone to know he was the man tonight as he took the lead early and didn’t look back. Marty Calloway made his move to pass outside pole sitter Brad Coffey and move into the 3rd position. Fresh off a victory last week, Jake Teague looked strong again as he got his machine into the top four early on. By Lap 6, King began to close in and erase the lead Ballenger had put on the pack. It wouldn’t be two in a row for Teague as he pulled off track and didn’t return. By the halfway mark the top two had pulled out to a huge lead over the rest of the field. King closed in but the night belonged to Ballenger.

#29 Rusty Ballenger
#52 Ryan King
#79c Marty Calloway
#88 Brad Coffey
#31 Brad Seagle
#33 Warren McMahan
#5 James Cole
#113 Chase McWhorter
#586 Cody Brake
#117 Jake Teague

Victory lane photos courtesy Priscilla Cupp




Comments are closed