Metler gets win in MS; Collins powers to LM win

Another great Saturday Night is in the books at 411, and the action was great all night long. Jimmy Elliott won in Mod-Mini, but was DQed at the scales, handing the win to Terry Poore. Phil Blackford wins in Classic, Mike Lewis takes the win in Topless Modified, Brad Lowe — yes, that Brad Lowe, won in Street Stock, while Robbie Comer and Josh Collins got wins in both Super Truck and Late Model, while Shawn Henry lapped the field in Mini-Stock before refusing to pull his valve cover in post-race tech, handing the win over to Tommy Metler. The birthday boy, Cody Courtney, took the win in Mini-Late Model. The night wasn’t controversy free though, as Brad Lowe set the Late Model fast time in his new ride, before being deemed too light at the scales, handing over the fast time to Adam Beeler. He spun a 4, and Ryan King won the Hoosier Dash. He would last through 3 initial start attempts before his left-rear tire flew off his machine, ending his and Mark Leach’s night.

Next up on the schedule is the Food City Race Night. We’ll get started as usual with pits opening at 4, grandstands at 5, drivers meeting at 5:30, hotlaps at 5:45, with heats around 7p and features around 8:15. Come on out for another exciting night of racing at Tennessee’s Action Track! To check out the stories, click the title to this story!

In Mod-Mini action, we saw Jimmy Elliott take off with the lead from the pole, with Rocky McNabb in the 2nd spot. Nick Perry would eventually work his way around McNabb for 2nd on lap 4. The top 2 would stay the same until lap 18 with Terry Poore would power around Poore for the 2nd spot and try to run down race leader Elliott. Elliott though, managed to hang onto the lead the final 2 circuits to claim the checkers. However, when crossing the scales, the tech man noticed something out of the guidelines, thus, resulting in a DQ of Elliott, handing over the win to Terry Poore. Perry would get 2nd and Rocky McNabb would take home 3rd.

Feature Results:
1.(7) #2-Terry Poore
2.(3) #19-Nick Perry
3.(1) #01-Rocky McNabb
4.(5) #80-James Mitchell
5.(4) #39-Jason Carter
6.(6) #22-Nick Keeley
DQ. #J39-Jimmy Elliott

In Classic action, Phil Blackford and Marvin Ray made up the front row. Blackford would take off with the early lead, but hot on his heels were Ray, Bart Baxter, Bobby Pressley, and Adam Engel. The field would be close for the first half of the race. Baxter would take over the 2nd spot on lap 8 and try to run down the race leader. Ray would be kicked back to 3rd with Adam Engel hot on his heels. After the dust settled, Blackford gets the win, Baxter takes 2nd, and Engel comes in 3rd.

Feature Results:
1.(1) #12-Phil Blackford
2.(4) #7-Bart Baxter
3.(5) #28-Adam Engel
4.(2) #98-Marvin Ray
5.(3) #07-Bobby Pressley

Topless Modified
In Topless Modified action, we saw Mike Lewis and Layne Clifton on the front row, they would stay there this entire feature. However, 3rd would be up for grabs. Jerry Hux would start 3rd and run 3rd until lap 9 when Keith Gregory, who ran up the turn 3 wall in the heat race, claimed the 3rd spot. Through a few cautions, Gregory would try to challenge for the 2nd spot of Clifton, but never got a run. Mike Lewis wins, Clifton in 2nd, and 3rd goes to Gregory.

Feature Results:
1.(1) #15-Mike Lewis
2.(2) #23-Layne Clifton
3.(7) #44-Keith Gregory
4.(3) #01-Jerry Hux
5.(4) #420-Tyler James
6.(8) #57-Marvin Romines
7.(5) #16-Adam Irwin
8.(6) #3-Ronnie King

Street Stock
In Street Stock action, we saw Jon Cook and Brad Lowe on the front row — yes, that Brad Lowe. Lowe would waste little time powering to the race lead on the first lap, with Jon Cook in tow. Cook would surrender the 2nd spot to Bradly Lewelling on lap 2. Lewelling would try for the next 18 laps to make a run on Lowe, when on the last lap, he would make 2 peeks for the win, but Lowe was too strong and claimed the checkers. Lewelling comes home in 2nd and Cook takes 3rd.

Feature Results:
1.(2) #1-Brad Lowe
2.(3) #10B-Bradly Lewelling
3.(1) #0z-Jon Cook
4.(7) #10-Dave Smith
5.(10) #5-Mitchell Childress
6.(12) #5-Todd Merriman
7.(5) #70-Phil Davis
8.(9) #27-Charlie Bates
9.(4) #11-Dale Watson
10.(14) #18-Chris Nix
11.(8) #44-Walter Sims
12.(11) #69-Daniel Lawson
13.(13) #4-RJ Delfino
14.(6) #96-Chuck Kilian
DNS. #94-Mike Kilian; #21-Heath Alvey

Super Truck
In Super Truck action, we saw Steve Hillard and Rocky Ogle on the front row, as a driver change in the #74 moved that truck from 2nd to last with Clyde Stanton behind the wheel. Steve Hillard would lead the first 3 laps, until Robbie Comer took command on lap 3. Stanton would power into the 2nd spot on lap 5, until a caution on lap 6 when Ogle slammed the wall in turn 4. Track officials would take the time to clean up the fluid, when Stanton would stop in turn 3, dropping more fluid. By the time that was all cleaned up, we had 3 trucks left. This feature would be time-shortened to 12 laps, with Comer taking the win, Steve Hillard coming home in 2nd, and Tom Huston winds up 3rd.

Feature Results:
1.(3) #42-Robbie Comer
2.(1) #2-Steve Hillard
3.(4) #78-Tom Huston
4.(5) #74-Clyde Stanton
5.(2) #9-Rocky Ogle

Late Model
In Late Model action, we saw Brad Lowe set fast time in a new car, but was deemed light at the scales. This gave the fast time to Adam Beeler. Ryan King would win the Hoosier Dash, landing him on the pole for the feature. Outside of him was last year’s champ Josh Collins. Collins wasted no time through 4 attempts to go green past the first lap. Ryan King would suffer a missing wheel after he powered into the race lead heading into turn 1, sparking off a pileup that ended the night of Mark Leach. Collins powered into the race lead once again, never looking back. Mayse would take over the 2nd spot on lap 2, never looking back as well, but 3rd was up for grabs. Jason Cardwell, bringing Brad Lowe with him, would claim the 3rd and 4th spots, respectively, on lap 11. This one was time-shortened on lap 25, for the 3rd straight week, with Josh Collins taking the win, Mayse takes 2nd, and 3rd goes to Cardwell.

Feature Results:
1.(2) #63-Josh Collins
2.(7) #22-Bobby Mayse
3.(9) #07-Jason Cardwell
4.(10) #16-Brad Lowe
5.(3) #66-Adam Beeler
6.(14) #32-Greg Huskey
7.(15) #71-Brian Courtney
8.(8) #2-Danny Yoder
9.(12) #3-Danny Floyd
10.(11) #32-Andy Standridge
11.(4) #71C-Mack McCarter
12.(13) #10-James Parrott
13.(16) #22-Lynn Leach
14.(6) #21-Chase King
15.(1) #30-Ryan King
16.(5) #66-Mark Leach
DNS. #17-Matt Henderson

In Mini-Stock action, Shawn Henry quickly took over the race lead from the getgo, with Tommy Metler starting outside of him. Dalton King would move into the 2nd spot on the first lap. Henry would lead flag-to-flag, lapping up to 2nd place, before King, running 2nd, would break and pull into the infield on lap 14. Henry would run the final 6 laps as being the only car on the lead lap. However, in post-race tech, Henry was DQed after refusing to pull his valve cover. This handed the win over to Tommy Metler. 2nd went to Jeromy Collins, and 3rd goes to Sam Burgess.

Feature Results:
1.(2) #44-Tommy Metler
2.(4) #J44-Jeromy Collins
3.(7) #23-Sam Burgess
4.(6) #16-Clifford Sands
5.(3) #51-Dalton King
6.(5) #29-Mike Townsend
DQ. #0-Shawn Henry
DNS. #B01-Brandon Johnson

Mini-Late Model
In Mini-Late action, we saw Cody Courtney whip the competition once again, coming home in 2nd was Zack Corum and coming in 3rd was Gabe Miller

Feature Results:
1. #171-Cody Courtney
2. #21-Zack Corum
3. #32-Gabe Miller
4. #5-Bud Hoomes
5. #22-Braxton McFalls
6. #44-Blake Neeley

Comments are closed